It’s all about me

Hello world,

Allow me to introduce myself, I don’t think we’ve met before. My name is Lucinda. I’m 33 and from the West Midlands – no, you don’t have to do the accent. I’m unemployed despite having two degrees and a load of professional experience. I usually work in HR which is an utter nightmare. For example, here’s a few situations which I’ve had to devote weeks of my time to:

* someone used the wrong milk – we need to investigate it as potential theft

*a dog was left in an employee’s car – can you look into it?

*someone has hurt their back having sex on top of a company car, are they entitled to free physio?

*someone is off sick but when we went round their house they appeared round the corner on a white horse, is this allowed?

*we need to employ a new temp – the old one has moved on and there’s no one to make the toast

*as a manager I shouldn’t have to look after all these people issues – that’s your job

*I’ve had to have a vasectomy because I’m Catholic, if you don’t let me have paid time off I’ll sue you for religious discrimination

*You took too long investigating my initial grievance so I’m launching a new one about the delay

*We can’t change his company car allowance, his ex wife had it written into their divorce settlement

So, I’m unemployed. Unsurprisingly, I haven’t been particularly motivated to find a new role. DISCLAIMER ALERT : I’m not claiming any kind of benefits (not that there’s anything wrong with that) I’m living off my meagre savings. This blog is about my life at home and what you can get up to when you’re not occupied 9-5 and have no income. (Seriously, who works those hours? I think you get my point though.)

I have a number of interests which I’ll hopefully be blogging about – gardening, interior design, antiques, reading, cooking, eating out, art, culture – as well as relationships, people, family and life in general. As I’m at home all day I wanted to do something that would connect with the outside world and would use my brain (I’ve literally forgotten how to write). I’d love to gain a few regular followers and to hear your opinions on what I have to say.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

