Running at a snails pace

Confession: I have started running (well, slow jogging).

I have always wanted to be one of those girls who throw on a pair of trainers and go off for a run to clear their head. I realised fairly quickly that I was not one of those girls. Instead, I am one of those girls who are extremely heavy footed, with an incredibly short stride and a breathing style akin to that of an inbred bulldog. I do not look pretty when I run.

Due to this, plus the fact that I don’t wear makeup or do my hair, I am too scared/vain to run outside my own house, so I drive to the park. This situation is not ideal. I have nowhere to put my keys (had to shove them down my sports bra) and the park itself is on a steep slope. My current plan involves running across the flat bits of the park then walking up and down the inclines. I’m finding that quite hard so I tend to slowly jog for about 1/2 of the flat bit, then walk for  few minutes, then try to run again. It takes me about half an hour to do two circuits.

Today, I ran past a woman casually strolling along the path. I thought I was doing quite well and completed a running/walking lap of the park. As I made my way back to my car I realised that the woman was right behind me – I literally run at a snails pace.

I’m trying to control my breathing and work on getting an even stride but it’s really challenging. Does anyone have any tips for a newbie runner?  Or advice on where to put keys etc.? Is it meant to be this hard? HEEEEEELP!!!!!

 

4 thoughts on “Running at a snails pace

  1. Hello! 🙂 I separate my house keys and car keys, leave the house keys in the car and only take the car key with me. I either put the car key in a small back pocket of my running tights, or in my slim “fanny pack” (ex SPI belt). It also holds my phone. Good luck with running! – from another snail

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thank you so much for the advice! I can’t believe I didn’t think of locking my house keys in the car. Duh! None of my exercise clothes have pockets, maybe I need to go shopping 🙂 Good to know I’m not the only one plodding down the road!

      Like

  2. A few of my running pants/shorts have little pockets at the waist band that (just barely) can hold a key. I really don’t understand why there is such an extreme lack of pockets in running clothes in general. Maybe it’s so we’ll all buy extra pockets to strap to ourselves while running. Whatever the reason it’s very annoying.
    As far as tips, just stick with it. Running does get easier and even if you’re slower than a lot of people you’re faster than a lot too. I live in a small city and can’t always get out to a park to run; running through my neighborhood and town used to bother me and, if we’re being honest, still does sometimes. I try to remind myself that maybe I don’t look good running but running sure does make me look good.
    Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi there! Thank you for the advice! I will stick at it (especially now the weather is warming up) and will blog more about it in the future. I’m trying really hard to get over the fact that I look like crap when I run, luckily I haven’t bumped into anyone I know but the fear is always there. Well done for feeling the fear and doing it anyway!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

